Street Superintendent: Vic McGinnis
Street Department: Jace Piper 
Part-time Street Department: Larry Duncan

Swim Pool:
Pool Manager:  
Assistant Pool Managers:

Acting Electrical Superintendent: Roman Horn

Landfill Operator: Donald Leonard

City Park Caretaker:​ Wayne Thompson
Memorial Park Caretaker: Teresa Duncan

Police Chief: Dennis Bradburn 
Police Sergeant: Aaron Shiplett 
Police Officer: Cody Phillips 
Municipal Judge: Linda Gibson  

From the original Articles of Incorporation dated January 16, 1889

Town Hall: 
Town Manager/Clerk: Rebecca Clark
Deputy Town Clerk: Merna McGinnis
Municipal Court Clerk: Kylan Robins

Water/Waste Water:
Water/Waste Water Superintendent: Mike Ingle
Water/Waste Water Department: Mark Mitchell

About us

Springfield is located in the southeastern corner of the State of Colorado, approximately 1,500 miles from either coast, 30 miles from Kansas and Oklahoma, and halfway between Denver and Amarillo, Texas. Springfield is the county seat and is located in the middle of Baca County. Springfield originally developed as a cattle ranching and farming community and a major stagecoach stop. The town was named Springfield because the land was purchased from Andrew Harrison, who was from Springfield, MO., as were many other early residents.

Established by the Windsor Town Company in 1887, the town was incorporated in 1889. When Baca County was created from Las Animas County in 1889, Springfield was named as a temporary county seat. Other towns competing for the seat were Minneapolis, Stonington and Boston. The day of the election to determine the county seat, two men representing the town of Boston got lost during a snowstorm. After much controversy, a second election was held, and Springfield won the permanent seat.

​​Town Employees

About Us